– One Nil to the Arsenal – By: Rob Dominguez

I’ve delayed writing this for about as long as I think I could have. It’s been over two weeks since our trip to Barcelona. On that day, the gunners were set up to create football history. The opportunity to once again – as had been done again and again this season – comeback from the brink of elimination and secure a place in the next round of fixtures. More importantly, a victory assured hope and gave something for the faithful to hold onto. What can be said about the performance that was put on by the gunners? Simply, that there were no Arsenal men on the pitch. Only eleven individuals. Boys.

Impostors is the adequate description. How else can the performance of the Arsenal players be addressed? From the very beginning, forget Bendtner’s goal, the style – or lack thereof – was not that of my beloved gunners. It wasn’t that of English football. It wasn’t that of top flight football. It simply looked like a group of frightened children. I know this sounds critical, especially since I’ve never walked onto a professional pitch, kit on, boots laced and listening to 98,000+ fanatics screaming my name, or wanting me dead. But, to be given that kind of opportunity, wouldn’t you imagine that you’d WANT to play a better game than the pure pish that was exhibited by those Arsenal lads?
There was one glimmer of hope: Robin Van Persie. Now, several seasons ago, I certainly had my doubts. I was not the biggest fan of RVP – aside from the fact that he resembles a tyrannosaurs – but I’ve changed my position over the past two seasons. I thought he performed excellently last season, and for this campaign to have started so well and get smashed so soon – dreadfully depressing. But, when he stepped onto the pitch for the closing sixteen of regular time – the game once again became alive. And, for the first time that night, Arsenal were on the pitch.
Here’s to you Robin – I sincerely hope next season the weight is thrust upon your shoulders and you help take us all the way.
“We’ve got that double feeling,
whoah that double feeling…”
Leave a Reply

